Home Page


Reception Baseline Assessment


The focus of the RBA is on communication, language and literacy, and maths. It takes around 15 minutes.

The National Foundation for Educational Research (NFER) designs and delivers the RBA and ran the trial and pilot phases of the assessment and the first two years of its implementation in primary schools.

The RBA data is used to judge how much progress children have made by the end of KS2 (Year 6 SATs). There is no "pass" or "fail" or numerical score, and the results of the RBA are not used to track individual pupils or to judge schools' Foundation Stage performance

RBA guide for parents

End of year assessments in Reception 


What are the EYFS assessment levels?

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) Profile is a report of your child’s development and achievement at the end of the Reception year. There are three main objectives: to inform parents about their children’s development, to ease the transition to Key Stage 1, and to help Year 1 teachers plan for the year ahead to meet the needs of the entire class.

The EYFS Profile is broken down into seven specific areas of learning:

  • Communication and language
  • Physical development
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding of the world
  • Expressive arts and design

Within each of these areas, there are specific Early Learning Goals – for example, in the case of Communication and language, these are Listening, Attention and Understanding, and Speaking. Your child will be given an achievement level for each area of learning. This will be recorded as Emerging or Expected.